Review: Breach of Trust, by DiAnn Mills

Breach of Trust, by DiAnn Mills (Tyndale House, 2009)

Paige Rogers is an ex-CIA operative forced undercover in the small town of Split Creek, Oklahoma. Her last mission nearly killed her. It did kill the rest of her team—except for the man who betrayed them, Daniel Keary.

Now Keary is poised to win state governorship, and his ambitions don’t stop there. Will Paige put her loved ones in danger for one last chance to expose him…for the good of her country?

Miles Laird is the high school football coach, and it takes all Paige’s self-control not to return the affection he can’t hide. But if he knew who she really was, what she’d done in the line of duty, she’d lose him.

After quitting the CIA Paige became a Christian. Even as she considers reactivating, she wrestles with the morality of her past actions in the line of duty. How can deceit and righteous living co-exist?

I took a while to get into the novel. It flows nicely in third-person past-tense, but Keary’s brief sections are first-person present-tense. It may underscore Keary’s sense of ruthless power, but I always find these shifts throw me out of the story. Once I got used to it, the novel was hard to put down.

Breach of Trust is book one in the Call of Duty series, and winner of both a 2010 Christy Award winner and a 2010 Inspirational Readers Choice Award. Book two, Breach of Security, released in the spring of 2010. On the Breach of Trust page on DiAnn Mills’ site you’ll find links to the video trailer and to an excerpt of the novel. Click here for discussion questions.

DiAnn Mills is an award-winning author of more than 15 novels. Visit her website to learn more about DiAnn and her books: historical fiction, contemporary fiction and non-fiction.

[review copy from my personal library]

2 thoughts on “Review: Breach of Trust, by DiAnn Mills

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.